MILAN: The Museo Storico Alfa Romeo in Arese, Italy, opened its doors to the public this week after a four-year restoration and renovation project, while presenting the new Giulia. The museum not only exhibits some of the Italian brand's most iconic cars, it also has lots of activities to entertain visitors.
The museum, designed by the architect Benedetto Camerana, houses a total of 69 cars, covering the evolution of the brand and its mark on history dating back to the introduction of the 24 HP in 1910, the very first A.L.F.A. produced.
On the ground level, the emphasis is on design, presented through various themes such as "masters of style," "the Italian school" and "Alfa Romeo and cinema." And of course several Giulietta and Giulia models grace this area with their inimitable style.
Upstairs is a selection of 19 of the brand's most iconic cars and special feature, titled "Quelli dell'Alfa Romeo," which retraces the history of the people (labourers, mechanics, test pilots, designers, engineers, etc.) who made Alfa Romeo the legend it is today.
As for the basement, that area is dedicated to speed. There you will find the cars that Tazio Nuvolari and Juan-Manuel Fangio raced on roads and tracks around the world, such as the 6C 1750 Gran Sport that won the Mille Miglia in 1930 and the Alfetta 159, Formula 1 world champion in 1951. Visitors can also discover the "Temple of Victories," a collection of images, sounds and videos that retrace all of these achievements.
The museum first opened in 1976, but after the Alfa Romeo Arese Plant was shuttered following the brand's acquisition by Fiat Group, visits had to be organized and reserved ahead of time. An initial round of renovations took place ahead of the brand's 100th anniversary celebrations, but the museum was closed once again in 2011.