Organiser promises exciting Malaysian Cub Prix 2015

By CARSIFU | 6 March 2015


PETALING JAYA: The Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship 2015 season promised a better experience not just for the competitors but also for the fans.

Safe Aim Mutual Sdn Bhd (SAM) promotions director Ron Hogg revealed during the launch that in the premier CP130 class, three riders are allowed per team with the best two riders’ results taken into account for the team standings.

In the past, the team award was based on the results of only two riders per team.

With three riders in action it will provide additional impetus for teams to utilise their rookies to gain exposure in the premiere class.
 The prize money in the CP130 class will now be paid to the top 10 riders compared to the top eight in previous years.

Hogg said that the CP130 represents the cream of the crop of Cub Prix and therefore it is only fair that they raise the standards and make the sport more exciting by introducing new rules.

“We also have good news for the fans. SAM together with Petronas will be giving away not one but two Yamaha Lagenda bikes in each round,” said Hogg.

The Malaysian Cub Prix will be held over 10 rounds with the opening race in Temerloh on March 14 and 15.

The other legs are in Batu Kawan, Penang (April 11-12), Muar (May 1-2), Kuala Terengganu (May 22-23), Malacca (June 13-14), Aug 15-16 (venue to be decided), Teluk Intan (Sept 19-20), Kangar (Oct 17-18), Jempol, Negri Sembilan (Oct 31-Nov 1) and Taiping (Nov 28-29).