Parliament passes new system that combines AES and Kejara

By THE STAR | 27 May 2016

KUALA LUMPUR: The Road Transport (Amendment) Bill was passed to allow for the implementation of the Automated Awareness Safety System (Awas) - a combination of the Automated Enforcement System (AES) and the Demerit Points System (Kejara).

Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi, in his winding up speech in Parliament, said the previous AES summons are still valid.

“However, the ministry will propose to the Cabinet for a discount of between RM100 and RM150 to be given,” he said in reply to Anthony Loke (DAP – Seremban).

He added that the AES in 14 locations would continue to operate as usual, with summons issued to traffic offenders.

Loke had also asked which party would be maintaining the AES camera system as previously, it was handled by two private companies – Beta Tegap Sdn Bhd and ATES Sdn Bhd.

In reply, Abdul Aziz said the cameras would come under the supervision of the Road Transport Department (JPJ).

Abdul Aziz said the ministry would also look into a suggestion by Datuk Othman Aziz (BN – Jerlun) to have a mechanism where offenders could check their demerit points online.

The Ministry has already proposed that the summons rate under AES be reduced once Awas takes effect, but the amount subjected to the Government’s decision.

AES cameras will be installed in stages at accident-prone areas on highways, federal roads and intersections.

Under the Kejara system, drivers who accumulate 60 demerit points will have their driving licence revoked.

For instance, drivers who speed, fail to obey traffic lights or cut double lines will receive four demerit points.

The demerit system will kick in when the driver collects 20 demerit points, which comes with a warning.

When the driver collects 40 demerit points, his licence will be suspended, and at 60 demerit points, the suspended license will be entirely revoked.

The JPJ will also offer a rehabilitation programme to drivers whose licences have been suspended.