Updated Lexus ES and RX arrive

By CARSIFU | 11 September 2019

PETALING JAYA: The refreshed Lexus ES250 sedan and Lexus RX300 SUV have been launched, featuring design tweaks and improved comfort and safety.

The Lexus ES250 is available in two variants: Premium (RM299,888) and Luxury (RM332,888) while the RX300 comes in three variants: Premium (RM399,888); Luxury (RM424,888) and F Sport (RM439,888).

All prices are on-the-road without insurance.


Lexus ES

Adopting the theme of Provocative Elegance, the new generation ES features a rearward sloping roofline for that coupe-like silhouette.

It's also a bigger car than its predecessor as it is now 66mm longer and 46mm wider and increased leg room with a wheelbase which is now 51mm longer.

Under the bonnet is a 2.5-litre in-line 4-cylinder petrol engine (A25A-FKS), which produces a total of 204hp at 6,600rpm and maximum torque of 247Nm at 5,000rpm.


A new 8-speed Direct Shift Automatic Transmission featuring AI (Artificial Intelligence) Shift Control coupled with a VVT-iE (Variable Valve Timing – Intelligent by Electric Motor) promises effortless acceleration and efficiency.

In terms of safety, the ES features the Safety System + (LSS+), which boasts an advanced package of active safety technologies such as Lane Tracing Assist (LTA), Lane Departure Alert (LDA), Pre-Collision System (PCS) and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) with Stop and Go function and Blind Spot Monitor. It also comes with 10 airbags.

The Luxury variant features include a 10-way powered front seat, powered reclining rear seats, three-zone climate control, head-up display, 12.3-inch centre screen with navigation, panoramic view monitor, hands-free powered boot and a Qi wireless charger.


The Premium variant comes with powered front seats, wood trim, an eight-inch centre screen, seven-inch digital instrument panel, sunroof, Drive Mode Select (Normal, Eco, Sport), keyless entry with push start, dual-zone climate control and a 10-speaker audio system.

The ES250 is available in seven paint colours: Sonic Quartz, Red Mica Crystal Shine, Graphite Black Glass Flake, Sonic Titanium, Platinum Silver Metallic, Deep Blue Mica.

You also have the choice of two interior colours - Black or Topaz Brown.

Lexus RX

The new RX has been refreshed with a new design that retains the aggressive stance and emphasizing its elegant lines.

Most noticeable is the front fascia of the RX with slimmer LED headlamps and LED daytime running lights (DRLs). The front and rear bumpers are also new.


All variants are all-wheel drive and is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 235hp from 4,800rpm to 5,600rpm and 350Nm of torque from 1,650rpm to 4,000rpm. It is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission.

The interior now has the addition of a 12.3-inch display screen on the dashboard of all variants except for the Premium which has an eight-inch unit instead. All variants get the Lexus Premium Audio infotainment system as well as Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

Standard safety equipment for all variants includes the Lexus Safety System+ such as Pre-Collision System with Front Pre-Collision System (PCS), Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC), Lane Keeping System and Adaptive High-Beam System (AHS).


Other standard features include 10 airbags, rear view camera, Stability Control (VSC), traction control, Anti-lock Barking System (ABS), Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD), hill start assist, blind spot monitor and rear-cross traffic alert.

The F Sport gets additional kit such as the Active Cornering Assist, Vehicle Dynamic Integrated Management.

“By designing innovative ways to excite and change the world, Lexus remains a visionary luxury brand that anticipates the future for all. Lexus has long held on to the commitment of bringing amazing experiences to our customers by transforming function into emotion, performance into passion and technology into imagination,” said Akio Takeyama, Deputy Chairman of Lexus Malaysia.