PJ city council expands 2-hour parking limit to Section 14 and SS21

PETALING Jaya City Council (MBPJ) has expanded the two-hour parking system to include two additional commercial centres; namely SS21 (Damansara Uptown) and part of Section 14.

The affected streets are: Jalan SS21/37, Jalan SS21/39, Jalan SS21/35, Jalan SS21/58, Jalan SS21/60, Jalan SS21/62, Jalan SS21/1A and Jalan SS21/56B in Damansara Uptown as well as Jalan 14/14 and Jalan 14/20 in Section 14.

“The payment hours are from 8am to 6.30pm, from Mondays to Fridays (except public holidays),” MBPJ said in a statement.

“The parking rate for the orange-painted bays designated under the system is 60 sen for every half-hour, up to a maximum of two hours.”

MBPJ said motorists could use the Smart Selangor Parking app for parking payment.

However, the council did not state the number of affected parking bays, whether other app payment options were available and enforcement details on the system.

MBPJ’s move follows the implementation of the two-hour parking system in Section 52, better known as PJ State or PJ New Town, in March last year.

Some 50 parking bays along Jalan 52/2 and Jalan 52/4 were reserved for the system.

Several local councils in Selangor have implemented a two-hour parking system, or hot zone parking, in certain sections of busy commercial areas to free up parking space in high-traffic streets, particularly those near banks.
Autos News